docuFORM The Digital Document Solution Company
Global Printer Interface / Global Printer Driver
Mercury Suite

This comfortable universal printer driver supports all functions of your device in an optimal way.

Global Printer Interface „GPI“

Global Printer Interface

This virtual print data interpreter makes it possible to dispense with any form of printer drivers. The system is self-learning, maintenance-free and manufacturer-independent.


„ Highlights “

Europe-wide patented printing solution for Windows

Abandonmnent of any printer driver and MS print server

Self-learning and maintenance-free system

Integrated multi-vendor Follow "2" print functionality



The employees of the docuFORM GmbH have in the course of the worldwide project development for the Daimler AG among others also dealed with the topic of printing without printer driver. The result is the development of a virtual print data interpreter that allows you to dispense with any form of classic or whatever printer driver. The unique selling point of the dynamic workflow consists among others in the self-learning ability of the system. This means for the user an automatic and constant updating of its device database associated with control codes, by means of which a neutral print data stream is then dynamically and automatically adapted to the given hardware environment in real time, just before the printing process itself.

The renunciation of any printer driver and the elimination of all Microsoft print servers reduce the maintenance and operating costs within the company. At the same time, a uniform and manufacturer-independent user interface ensures increased efficiency and ease of use.

The core of this technology is an SNMP monitoring of the printing systems. As part of this SNMP monitoring, all changes to the printer pool are transmitted in real time to a database within the Mercury OMS system. The docuFORM Cloud can then be used to constantly retrieve current control sequences from new devices from the central docuFORM server. As a result, the on-site system is constantly updated automatically even if the infrastructure changes. The actual printing process then consists of sending a desired data stream to be printed, which is then enriched in Mercury OMS Server with the corresponding printer-specific control sequences in real time. At this time, the printable data stream is created, which can then always be optimally output without any compromise to the respective printing system. This patented unique selling point is manufacturer independent and includes all device options including final processing. This guarantees an optimal printout at all times.

Direct Follow“2“Print functionality („pull print“)

As part of this development, an optimized Follow "2" print solution is included. This stands out as a unique vendor-neutral and manufacturer-independent solution. The print data are always optimally printed, in which the neutral data is enriched with the control sequences for the respective device in real time, just shortly before the printing process. Also, this solution dispenses with the use of diversified printer queues. Also part of the invention is the searching and selecting of devices according to the respective properties in real time. This functionality is also made possible by the SNMP monitored device database, which also offers the user all available paper formats and their exchange.

Serverless Printing

In the meantime, docuFORM has also devoted itself to the topic of so-called serverless printing. Soon, in addition to the described GPI workflow, local print data should also be printed directly onto the output devices on site. The combination of GPI with integrated Follow2Print solution as well as the new, Serverless Printing 'aspect represents another milestone in the docuFORM product development Global Printer Interface (GPI).


Applications of the docuFORM GPI software package

After installing the Global Printer Interface, you can easily manage and configure your available printing systems according to your needs.

The docuFORM GPD printmanager app

The docuFORM GPI device manager

The core of the docuFORM Global Printer Interface is the device manager application. With this tool, the user sets up and manages his desired GPI output devices.

Configuration of print settings in the docuFORM GPI printer driver

The docuFORM GPI printer driver

The docuFORM GPI printer driver offers various configuration dialogs for selecting the desired output options.

docuFORM The Digital Document Solution Company
Firmenhistorie - docuFORM heute

Mercury Suite

Mercury Suite

Global Printer Driver „GPD“

Global Printer Driver

Dieser virtuelle Druckdateninterpreter ermöglicht es, auf jegliche Form von Druckertreibern zu verzichten. Das System ist selbstlernend, wartungsfrei und Hersteller übergreifend.


„ Highlights “

Europaweit patentierte Drucklösung für Windows

Verzicht auf jeglichen Druckertreiber und MS Printserver

Selbstlernendes und wartungsfreies System

Integrierte herstellerübergreifende Follow"2"Print Funktionalität



Die Mitarbeiter der docuFORM GmbH haben sich im Zuge der weltweiten Projektentwicklung für die Daimler AG u.a. auch mit dem Thema Drucken ohne Druckertreiber befasst. Das Ergebnis ist die Entwicklung eines virtuellen Druckdateninterpreters, der es ermöglicht auf jegliche Form von klassischen oder wie auch immer gearteten Druckertreibern zu verzichten. Das Alleinstellungsmerkmal des dynamischen Workflows liegt u. a. in der selbstlernenden Fähigkeit des Systems. Dies bedeutet für den Anwender eine automatische und ständige Aktualisierung seiner Gerätedatenbank verbunden mit Steuercodes, mit Hilfe derer dann ein neutraler Druckdatenstrom dynamisch und automatisch immer an die gegebene Hardwareumgebung kurz vor dem Druckprozess selbst in Echtzeit angepasst wird.

Der Verzicht auf jegliche Druckertreiber sowie der Wegfall aller Microsoft Printserver reduzieren den Wartungs- und Betriebsaufwand in den Unternehmen. Gleichzeitig sorgt eine einheitliche und herstellerübergreifende Benutzeroberfläche für Effizienzsteigerung und Bedienungskomfort.

Kern dieser Technologie stellt eine SNMP Überwachung der Drucksysteme dar. Im Rahmen dieser SNMP Überwachung werden in Echtzeit alle Veränderungen der Druckerlandschaft an eine Datenbank innerhalb des Mercury OMS Systems übermittelt. Über die docuFORM Cloud können dann aktuelle Steuersequenzen neuer Geräte ständig von dem zentralen docuFORM Server abgeholt werden. Dadurch wird das Vor-Ort System auch bei veränderter Infrastruktur ständig automatisch aktualisiert. Der Druckvorgang selbst besteht dann lediglich im Absenden eines gewünschten zu druckenden Datenstroms, der dann im Mercury OMS Server mit den entsprechenden druckerspezifischen Steuersequenzen in Echtzeit angereichert wird. Erst dann entsteht der druckbare Datenstrom, der dann perfekt und ohne Abstriche auf das jeweilige Drucksystem immer optimal ausgegeben werden kann. Dieses patentierte Alleinstellungsmerkmal ist herstellerübergreifend und schließt alle Geräteoptionen inklusive Endverarbeitung ausdrücklich ein. Damit wird zu jeder Zeit ein optimaler Ausdruck garantiert.

Direkte Follow“2“Print Funktionalität („pull print“)

Im Zuge dieser Entwicklung ist auch eine optimierte Follow"2"Print Lösung enthalten. Diese sticht als einzigartige herstellerneutrale und herstellerübergreifende Lösung hervor. Die Druckdaten werden immer optimal gedruckt, in dem in Echtzeit erst kurz vor dem Druckvorgang die neutralen Daten mit den Steuersequenzen für das jeweilige Gerät angereichert werden. Auch verzichtet diese Lösung auf die Verwendung von diversifizierten Druckerwarteschlangen. Ebenfalls Bestandteil der Erfindung ist das Suchen und Auswählen von Geräten nach den jeweiligen Eigenschaften in Echtzeit. Diese Funktionalität wird ebenfalls durch die SNMP überwachte Gerätedatenbank ermöglicht, welche auch dem Anwender alle zur Verfügung stehenden Papierformate und deren Austausch anbietet.

Serverless Printing

Zwischenzeitlich hat sich docuFORM auch dem Thema des sogenannten ‚Serverless Printing‘ gewidmet. Bald sollen neben dem beschriebenen GPD Workflow auch lokale Druckdaten direkt auf die Ausgabegeräte vor Ort gedruckt werden können. Die Kombination zwischen GPD mit integrierter Follow2Print Lösung sowie dem neue ‚Serverless Printing‘ Aspekt stellt einen weiteren Meilenstein in der docuFORM Produktentwicklung Global Printer Driver (GPD) dar.


Applikationen des docuFORM GPD Softwarepakets

Nach der Installation des Global Printer Drivers können Sie Ihre verfügbaren Drucksysteme ganz einfach und übersichtlich verwalten und nach Ihren Bedürfnissen konfigurieren.

Die docuFORM GPD Druckmanager App

Der docuFORM GPD Druckmanager

Das Herzstück des docuFORM Global Printer Driver stellt die Druckmanager Applikation dar. Mit diesem Tool richtet der Anwender seine gewünschten GPD Ausgabegeräte ein und verwaltet diese.

Konfiguration der Druckeinstellungen im docuFORM GPD Druckertreiber

Der docuFORM GPD Druckertreiber

Der docuFORM GPD Druckertreiber bietet verschiedene Konfigurationsdialoge zur Auswahl der gewünschten Ausgabeoptionen.