docuFORM The Digital Document Solution Company
Follow me printing solution
Mercury Suite

Pull print with authentication on the device - worldwide cross-network use possible

Follow „2“ Print

Follow 2 Print

The Follow "2" Print module offers the possibility to move secure print data to any desired output system and receiving them individually from authenticated users.


„ Highlights “

Cross-manufacturer pull printing functionality

Combination of host / SAP / Office print data in one solution

Comprehensive authentication options for secure document retrieval

Integration of Smartphone for mobile barcode authentication



Mercury Follow„2“Print funktionality and workflow

One of the unique selling propositions in the Mercury Suite is the compatibilities within each Mercury Module, so print data can be made available from a variety of Mercury modules and related data sources for a single overall Follow "2" print workflow, especially the following data sources:

  • Cloudprinting / Airprinting
  • Office printing
  • SAP printing
  • Host applications

No matter what data source information is provided from, Mercury can process and map it in a standardized workflow.

Rights assignment for Follow


In other words:

If a user fetches his print jobs at any output device with the help of his authentication, he can see all his documents regardless of the application with which they were created. You can enhance this workflow at any time, according to individual rules, with formatting or adding graphic elements to enrich the overall layout.

Sketch of the Follow2Print workflow

In addition to the classic Follow "2" print application within the Mercury Suite, the patented Global Printer Interface (GPD) for office printing can be seamlessly integrated. The key, patented unique selling point is, that you can do this without any kind of printer driver - even with Follow "2" print printing.

All classic solutions on the market are based on at least one printer driver per manufacturer. To make matters worse, when using a Follow "2" Print Workflow, an additional Follow "2" Print Queue must always be created for the user.

This high level of administration and configuration effort can be completely replaced by the Global Printer Interface (GPD), whereby the Follow "2" print request of a print job is only fed into the workflow as a printing feature - own or additional Follow "2" print queues are completely eliminated. The entire Follow "2" Print Workflow can be integrated into the unique GPD Print Queue. Due to its compatibility, this workflow can also be fully integrated and used in parallel with any existing printer drivers.

Here, too, mixed operation with SAP printing and other data sources is possible.

Possible Follow-2-Print data sources

Furthermore, regardless of data sources and the use of printer drivers or the patented Global Printer Interface (GPD), there are a variety of authentication methods available. Those are called:

  • Authentification via Pin
  • Authentification with Smartcard
  • Authentication via barcode using a Smartphone

The user can authenticate himself via one of the methods on the printing system and receive his personal print jobs securely. Since recently, the entire Follow "2" Print Workflow can also be end-encrypted using the IPPS protocol.

Example authentication via mobile app using device barcodes:

Authentification via Mobile App

The following manufacturers are supported to authenticate users via embedded apps for Multifunctional Printers (MFP):

Logo Brother
Logo Canon
Logo Epson
Logo HP
Logo Konica Minolat
Logo Kyocera
Logo Lexmark
Logo Ricoh
Logo Samsung
Logo Triumph-Adler
Logo Utax
Logo Xerox
more to come

The Follow "2" print solution from docuFORM is cascadable. Companies such as Baiersdorf or Daimler AG have already carried out worldwide Follow "2" print installations. To this end, analogously to mobile technology, a so-called index server is used, which manages the print jobs user-related within the regional networks and handles the worldwide distribution accordingly.

In addition, a cloud concept will be available in the future, which will dispense with on-site IT infrastructure and will use Cloud Services to represent Follow"2" print in the docuFORM cloud.

Print management in Mercury MPS Server

docuFORM The Digital Document Solution Company
Firmenhistorie - docuFORM heute

Mercury Suite

Mercury Suite

Follow „2“ Print

Follow 2 Print

Das Follow"2"Print Modul bietet die Freiheit, Druckdaten an jedem gewünschten Ausgabesystem gesichert und individuell von authentifizierten Anwendern entgegenzunehmen.


„ Highlights “

Herstellerübergreifende Follow"2"Print-Funktionalität

Kombination von Host- / SAP- / Office-Druckdaten in einer Lösung

Umfassende Authentifizierungs-möglichkeiten zur gesicherten Dokumentenabholung

Integration von Smartphones zur mobilen Barcode-Authentifikation



Mercury Follow„2“Print Funktionalität und Workflow

Eines der Alleinstellungsmerkmale in der Mercury Suite sind die Kompatibilitäten innerhalb der einzelnen Mercury Module, daher können aus den unterschiedlichsten Mercury Modulen und damit verbundenen unterschiedlichsten Datenquellen Druckdaten für einen einheitlichen übergreifenden Follow“2“Print Workflow zur Verfügung gestellt werden, dabei handelt es sich insbesondere um folgende Datenquellen:

  • Cloudprinting / Airprinting
  • Officedruck
  • SAP Druck
  • Hostanwendungen

Egal aus welcher Datenquelle Informationen bereitgestellt werden, können diese von Mercury verarbeitet und in einem standardisierten Workflow abgebildet werden.

Rechtevergabe für Follow“2“Print Anwender


Mit anderen Worten:

holt ein Anwender seine Druckjobs mit Hilfe seiner Authentifizierung an einen beliebigen Ausgabegerät ab, sieht er gleichermaßen alle seiner Dokumente unabhängig davon, mit welcher Anwendung diese erstellt wurden. Ergänzen können diesem Workflow jederzeit, individuell nach Regeln, Formatierungen durchgeführt oder grafische Elemente zur Anreicherung des Gesamtlayouts hinzugefügt werden.

Skizze des Follow2Print Workflows

In Ergänzung zu der klassischen Follow“2“Print Anwendung innerhalb der Mercury Suite kann der patentierte Global Printer Interface (GPD) für Office Druck nahtlos integriert werden. Das entscheidende, patentierte Alleinstellungsmerkmal liegt darin, dass auf jegliche Form von Druckertreibern verzichtet werden kann - auch beim Follow“2“Print Druck.

Alle klassischen im Markt befindlichen Lösungen gehen pro Hersteller zumindest von einem Druckertreiber aus. Erschwerend kommt hinzu, dass bei Verwendung eines Follow to Print Workflows grundsätzlich immer eine zusätzliche Follow 2 Print Queue für den Anwender angelegt werden muss.

Dieser hohe Administrations- und Konfigurationsaufwand kann durch den Global Printer Interface (GPD) vollständig ersetzt werden, hierbei fließt die Follow“2“Print Anforderung eines Druckjobs nur als Druckmerkmal in den Workflow ein - eigene oder zusätzliche Follow“2“Print Queues entfallen vollständig. Der gesamte Follow“2“Print Workflow kann hier in die einmalig vorhandene GPD Printqueue integriert werden. Auch dieser Workflow ist auf Grund seiner Kompatibilität in einen Prozess mit noch vorhandenen Druckertreibern vollständig integrierbar und parallel einsetzbar.

Auch hier ist ebenfalls ein Mischbetrieb mit SAP Druck und anderen Datenquellen möglich.

Skizze der Follow2Print Datenquellen

Des Weiteren gibt es unabhängig von Datenquellen und der Verwendung von Druckertreibern oder des patentieren Global Printer Interface (GPD) unterschiedlichste Authentifizierungsverfahren. Hierbei spricht man von:

  • Authentifizierung über Pin
  • Authentifizierung mit Smartcard
  • Authentifizierung über Barcode mit Hilfe eines Smartphones

Der Anwender kann sich über eines der Verfahren am Drucksystem authentifizieren und seine persönlichen Druckjobs gesichert empfangen. Seit neuester Zeit kann auch der gesamte Follow“2“Print Workflow mit Hilfe des IPPS Protokolls mit einer end“2“end Verschlüsselung versehen werden.

Beispielhafte Authentifizierung über Mobile App mit Hilfe von Gerätebarcodes:

Authentifizierung über Mobile App

Zur Authentifizierung der User über embedded Apps für Multifunktionale Printer (MFP) werden nachfolgende Hersteller unterstützt:

Logo Brother
Logo Canon
Logo Epson
Logo HP
Logo Konica Minolat
Logo Kyocera
Logo Lexmark
Logo Ricoh
Logo Samsung
Logo Triumph-Adler
Logo Xerox
more to come

Die Follow“2“Print Lösung aus dem Hause docuFORM ist kaskadierbar. Bei Unternehmen wie Baiersdorf oder Daimler AG wurden bereits weltweite Follow“2“Print Installationen vorgenommen. Hierzu kommt analog zur Mobiltechnologie ein sogenannter Indexserver zum Einsatz, welcher die Druckjobs User-bezogen innerhalb der regionalen Netze verwaltet und die weltweite Verteilung entsprechend übernimmt.

In Ergänzung wird zukünftig ein Cloud-Konzept zur Verfügung stehen, welches auf Vorort IT Infrastruktur verzichtet, und über Cloud Services Follow“2“Print im Rahmen der docuFORM Cloud abbilden wird.

Druckverwaltung im Mercury MPS Server